Minority Serving Institution Partners – NASA| Trending Viral hub

Coppin State University

Coppin State University (CSU) is a public historically black university located in Baltimore, Maryland. It is part of the University System of Maryland. CSU is a model urban residential liberal arts university located in the northwest section of Baltimore City offering academic programs in arts and sciences, teacher education, nursing, graduate studies, and continuing education. As an HBCU (historically black colleges and universities), Coppin has a culturally rich history as an institution offering quality educational programs and community outreach services. Coppin offers 53 majors and nine graduate programs. A fully accredited institution, Coppin serves Baltimore residents, as well as students from around the world, with flexible course schedules that include convenient day, evening, and weekend classes and distance learning courses.

Hampton University

Hampton University (HU), a private, nonprofit, nonsectarian, coeducational institution that was founded in 1868 in Hampton, Virginia. It is a Historically Black College and University (HBCU) dedicated to promoting learning, building character, and preparing promising students for positions of leadership and service. HU’s Department of Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences (APS) offers a graduate education program leading to master’s and doctoral degrees. degrees with a concentration in either Atmospheric Sciences or Planetary Sciences.

Howard University

Howard University is a private, federally chartered, historically black university in Washington, DC. The university has a highly productive and reputable Graduate Program in Atmospheric Sciences (HUPAS) that has trained 50% of African Americans and 30% of Latinos with PhDs in Atmospheric Sciences in the United States over the past decade. This interdisciplinary program was established in 1998 as a cooperative effort between the Departments of Chemistry, Physics and Astronomy, and Mechanical Engineering. The University leads the NOAA Cooperative Science Center for Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology (NCAS-M), which is a 13-member academic and research consortium of international reputation that supports NOAA’s scientific mission in atmospheric sciences, weather and climate.

Morgan State University

Morgan State University (MSU) is a public, historically black research university in Baltimore, Maryland. It is the largest of Maryland’s HBCUs. Morgan attracts students from every state and many foreign countries. It is one of the leading institutions nationally in the number of applications received from African American high school graduates. The University awards more bachelor’s degrees to African American students than any campus in Maryland. In many fields, but particularly in engineering and science, Morgan represents a large percentage of degrees received by African Americans from Maryland institutions. A higher-than-average percentage of Morgan graduates enter graduate and professional schools. The university has historically ranked among the top public campuses nationally in the number of black graduates receiving doctorates.

University of Maryland Baltimore County

The University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) is a public research university in Baltimore County, Maryland. UMBC is a designated minority-serving institution: an AANAPISI (Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institution (AANPISI) with 59 bachelor’s degree programs, 24 graduate certificates, 39 master’s degrees, and 24 doctoral programs. Student enrollment in 2018 was approximately 11,260 undergraduates and 2,507 are in graduate or professional programs. Demographically, 45% of undergraduates are minorities (Asian Americans, African Americans, and Hispanics). UMBC’s vision is to redefine ” …excellence in higher education through an inclusive culture that connects innovative teaching and learning, interdisciplinary research and civic engagement.” (See: https://diversidad.umbc.edu/)

University of Maryland on the Eastern Shore

The University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) is a historically black land-grant institution from 1890. UMES has five schools, one of which is the College of Agricultural and Natural Sciences (SANS). The Department of Natural Sciences (DNS) within SANS offers master’s degrees in Chemistry and Biology, master of professional science in quantitative fisheries and resource economics and a five-year combined bachelor and master’s degree in marine sciences. It also offers MS/Ph.D. degrees in Marine, Estuarine and Environmental Sciences with specializations in Fisheries Sciences, Oceanography, Ecology, Environmental Chemistry, Environmental Sciences and Environmental Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, and MS/Ph.D. Bachelor’s Degree in Toxicology. At the university level, DNS offers Bachelor’s degrees in Biology, Chemistry, Biochemistry and Environmental Sciences (with a concentration in marine sciences and environmental chemistry) and minor programs in Biology, Chemistry and Physics. The University offers the only four-year Aviation Science degree program in the state of Maryland, with concentrations in Aviation Electronics, Aviation Management, Aviation Software, and Professional Pilot.

Check Also

Increasing diversity in spacecraft mission teams reduces risk | Science| Trending Viral hub

Many of NASA’s spacecraft sent to Earth orbit and throughout the Solar System are competitively …

News Roundup: Climate Damage Fund, Palestinian Physicist Murdered, and Layoff Following Harvard Donation| Trending Viral hub

The latest in science and politics.

The world got poor marks on climate action. This is how COP28 aims to solve this problem| Trending Viral hub

CLIMATE CABLE | DUBAI, United Arab Emirates — Now the real work begins. The first …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *