Not a fan of NameDrop? Here’s how you can turn off Apple’s latest contact sharing feature

[ad_1]

iOS 17 is available for download and the iPhone 15 series It’s been on shelves for a few weeks now, so Apple fans have gotten their hands on all the new software these updates brought. Although there are some Features that are very useful or fun to use.There are others who are, well… No.

One feature that has Apple fans divided is name drop. While some fans enjoy the ease of being able to simply pick up their phone to share their contact information, others are wary of the ease with which contact information can be shared or, worse yet, stolen.

Users of X (formerly Twitter) have expressed concerns about how the feature could jeopardize user security. For example, several women have expressed concern about being able to avoid creeps in public spaces. For example, @ChanSteele He tweeted: “How can you place the name of a fake number? Asking for all women.”

These security concerns are absolutely valid, and if you’re concerned and want to disable NameDrop, read on to learn your options for NameDrop management.

For more, here it is how to fix the most annoying features of iOS 17 and Everything you need to do before updating to iOS 17.

So is NameDrop dangerous?

The good news is that NameDrop is not necessarily dangerous. According AppleYou can select what information is shared when you give your contact a name with another person.

You also only have two options when two iPhones are placed together and the NameDrop option is presented. You also can Receive onlywhich means you will only receive the other person’s contact information, or you can Share. When you select Share you will send your contact information and receive the other person’s contact information.

So if you somehow accidentally use NameDrop on someone you don’t want, you have options. You can be ultra-selective about what information you choose to share or opt-in only.

However, if you are not yet comfortable with NameDrop, you can disable the feature. It’s important to note that NameDrop is automatically enabled when you download iOS 17 or purchase an iPhone 15, so you’ll need to disable it if you don’t want it active on your phone.

How do I disable NameDrop?

If you want to disable NameDrop forever, you’re in luck. It’s pretty easy to turn it off.

All you need to do to disable NameDrop is:

1. Open the Settings application.

2. Tap on General.

3. Navigate to the Airdrop eyelash.

4. Once you open the tab, simply change the Gather devices option disabled. It’s as easy as that. And if you change your mind and decide that you’re comfortable with NameDrop and want to enable it, all you need to do is toggle the Gather devices option activated again.

For more information, here is our review of the iPhone 15 and 15 Plus and the iPhone 15 Pro and Pro Max.



[ad_2]
Source link

Check Also

iPhone 16 Pro: New feature will reportedly fix this annoying camera issue | Trending Viral hub

[ad_1] We have not yet seen the iPhone 16but we continue to learn more about …

Google workers protest cloud contract with Israeli government | Trending Viral hub

[ad_1] Dozens of Google employees began to occupy company offices in New York City and …

US Senate to vote on wiretapping bill critics call ‘Stasi-like’ | Trending Viral hub

[ad_1] The United States Senate is about to vote on legislation this week that, at …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *